

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Pre and Post AGM Meeting Minutes June 29, 2021 Zoom Conference Call

Present: Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director), President Steven Allen (Wheatland), Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS), Cheryl Bauer Hyde (Wapiti), Patrick Simpson (Chinook), Sharon Armstrong (Parkland).

Regrets/Absent: Treasurer John Thronberg (SLP), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), Sandra MacArthur (MLB), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library and Literacy Office).

1. Call to Order

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) called the meeting to order at 6:07 pm.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) to adopt the agenda.

Motion carried.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted.

Motion carried.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

None.

5. New Business

5.1 Nominations Committee (Nancy Kennedy, Executive Director)

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) will put forth the following names for executive positions at the AGM:

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) – President Darlene Morin (PNLS) – Vice President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) - Treasurer

5.2 Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

No resolutions were received.

5.3 Minister's Brief

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) corrected one point in summary on the meeting with the Minister. A revised version will be uploaded to the website.

5.6 Library Advocacy/Promotion

SLTA will profile what is happening in the library systems around the province. President Steven Allen asked board members to check with their directors for information. The information will be posted on the SLTA website, Facebook, and in fellow organization newsletters, and the SLTA newsletter.

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) will reach out to her region for information on a dementia project.

5.7 Trustee Training

The videos on "In a Nutshell" received positive feedback. Once complete they will be circulated to board members, directors, mentioned in the SLTA newsletter and added to the website.

6. Correspondence

None.

7. In-Camera

Motion: Moved by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) to move in-camera at 6:27 pm. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) to move out of camera at 6:34 pm. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) to renew the Executive Director's contract for the present sum of \$15,600.00 per annum.

Motion carried.

8. New Business

Sandra MacArthur's term on the MLB is complete October 2021. SLTA is required to submit three names to the Minister's office so the vacancy can be filled. President Steven Allen (Wheatland) asked board members to send name suggestions to Nancy Kennedy, Executive Director, by July 10, 2021.

9. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be Wednesday, September 29, 2021 at 7:00 pm by Zoom teleconference. An agenda and meeting details will follow.

10.9. Adjournment
Motion: Moved by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) that the meeting adjourn at 6:48 pm. Motion carried.