Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting

May 6, 2006 Regina Inn, Regina, Saskatchewan

Call to Order

The 2006 Annual General Meeting was held at the Regina Inn and was called to order at 1:35 p.m. by President, Karen Basky (Palliser), who acted as chair.

Agenda

Elaine Kivisto (RPL) moved the acceptance of the agenda. Seconded by Gordon Yarde (Lakeland). Carried

Parliamentarian

Lee Atkinson moved acceptance of Isabelle Butters as Parliamentarian. Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried

Minutes of 2005 Annual General Meeting

Elaine Kivisto (RPL) moved that the minutes as circulated be adopted. Seconded by Deepi Batra (PNLS). Discussion- Omissions from minutes: Bev Dubois' name was missed on the list of those in attendance; a corrected list of attendees is attached to these minutes. Carried.

Reports

President Karen Basky introduced the SLTA executive members and welcomed new executive members - Deepi Batra from PNLS and Vina Walker from Palliser Regional Library. Karen highlighted some items found in her written report and talked of the value of having representation at CLTA, SARM, SUMA. Karen thanked Merrilee Rasmussen for her work on briefs to the Minister, Allen Johnson for keeping SLTA up to date on the Strategic Planning Committee and MEPP concerns and plans, Joylene Campbell and Marilyn Jenkins and the staff of Provincial Library for their work.

Karen moved acceptance of her report as printed in the AGM booklet. Seconded by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland Regional Library). Carried

Gordon Yarde (Lakeland) moved acceptance of Library System Reports. Seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast). Carried

Joylene Campbell (Provincial Librarian) brought greetings from Provincial Library and highlighted some items from her report in the AGM booklet.

James Taylor (Palliser) moved the acceptance of the Provincial Library Report. Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried

Auditor's Report and Financial Statement

Karen Basky (President) presented the Financial Auditor Review from the AGM booklet as prepared by treasurer Maureen McGirr (Wapiti). Elaine Kivisto (RPL) moved acceptance of the 2003 and 2004 Financial Auditor Review. Seconded by Lee Atkinson (Prince Albert). After discussion of term "auditor review" the motion was carried.

Karen Basky moved that the statement of the revenue and expenses for 2005 be accepted subject to a financial review statement being brought to the 2006 fall meeting of the SLTA executive and subsequently to the 2007 AGM. Seconded by Elaine Kivisto (RPL). Carried

Karen Basky moved that a comprehensive financial review for the year 2005 be accepted. Lee Atkinson (Prince Albert) seconded the motion. Reason for review - Community Net funds were administered by SLTA Carried

The SLTA needs to bring forward reserves to cover proposed budget. A committee to review levy structure has been struck to work on financial plan.

Constitution and Bylaws

Donna Hartley (Southeast) made the motion that Bylaw 1.3 (second paragraph) be amended to read:

Nominations for the award will be solicited by the executive by advising Regional, Regina, Saskatoon, and Pahkisimon Nuye-?ah Library System Boards each year and that nominations should be made prior to January 31st of each year.

Seconded by Carmen Pauls Orthner (La Ronge). Carried

Resolutions (Resolutions Committee Janet Wilkinson)

As presented by the Resolution Committee and having been sent to Trustees in the TRUSTEE newsletter:

Resolution 1 Library Book Rate

Be it resolved that the SLTA and CLTA urge the Government of Canada to establish the Library Book Rate as a permanent support for the benefit of libraries, without making the procedures for using the Library Book Rate unnecessarily complicated and time-consuming; and

Be it further resolved that the Library Book Rate be enhanced to become a Library Mail Rate that applies to all library materials shared on interlibrary loan including audio, visual and electronic media.

Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried

Resolution 2 Capital Funding for Libraries

Be it Resolved that the SLTA urge the Government of Saskatchewan and the government of Canada to work with libraries to develop an infrastructure program to meet the critical capital

needs of public library systems. Seconded by Elaine Kivisto (RPL). Carried

Resolution 3 Community Net

Be it resoved that the SLTA urge the Government of Saskatchewan and/or the Government of Canada to provide infrastructure funding to the public libraries in Saskatchewan that are not yet connected to make it possible for them to participate in CommunityNet and to all libraries to ensure the continuance of library participation in CommunityNet or to provide another alternate for high speed connection for libraries.

Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried

Elaine Kivisto (Regina Public Library) moved that we forward these resolutions to CLTA. Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried

Nominations Committee Report

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland Regional Library), Chair of the Nominations committee, nominated Elaine Kivisto (Regina Public Library) for President. The Chair called three times for nominations from the floor. Deepi Batra (PNLS) moved nominations cease, seconded by Carmen Pauls Orthner.

Elaine Kivisto was declared elected as President.

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland Regional Library), Chair of the Nominations committee, nominated Bev Dubois (Saskatoon Public Library) for Vice-President. The Chair called three times for nominations from the floor. Deepi Batra (PNLS) moved nominations cease, seconded by Carmen Pauls Orthner.

Bey Dubois was declared elected as Vice-President.

Elaine Kivisto (RPL) moved adjournment.

SLTA Registrants AGM - 2005

Karen Basky Elaine Kivisto RPL Isabelle Butters **MTLB** Janet Wilkinson Chinook Louise Cochran Lakeland Donna Hartley Southeast Karen Sinclair Southeast James Taylor Palliser Vina Walker Palliser **Etiennette Binette** Chinook Anita Stade Southeast Gordon Yarde Lakeland **Edith Gibbings** Chinook Eleanor Acorn Wapiti Lee Atkinson Wapiti Deepi Batra **PNLS** Sharon Armstrong Parkland Myrna Foster Wheatland Ken Sutherland Southeast **Faye Charles PNLS** Agnes Naytowhow **PNLS** Carmen Pauls OrthnerPNLS **Shirley Lomheim SPL**

Guests

Marilyn Jenkins Provincial Library
Joylene Campbell Provincial Library
Allan Johnson Southeast Regional Library
Arlene Pederson Wheatland Regional Library