Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting



May 5th, 2012 Ramada Hotel, Regina

1. Call to Order

The 2012 Annual General meeting was held at the Ramada Hotel in Regina and was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by President Bev Dubois (SPL) acting as chair.

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Bev Dubois welcomed everyone to the 2012 AGM.

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Jeannie Walker (Wapiti), seconded by Marilyn Rovensky (Wapiti) that the agenda be adopted. Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Gerald Kleisinger (RPL), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that Audrey Mark, Director, PNLS be appointed Parliamentarian. Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2011 AGM Held May 7, 2011 in Saskatoon.

Motion: Moved by Gerald Kleisinger, seconded by Donna Hartley that the minutes be adopted.

Motion carried.

3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

4. Reports

4.1 President (Bev Dubois, SPL)

President Bev Dubois presented her report.

4.2 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler) Lakeland (Dennis Taylor) Parkland (Sharon Armstrong) PNLS (Lorna Black) Regina (Gerald Kleisinger) Saskatoon (Bev Dubois) Southeast (Donna Hartley) Wapiti (Maureen McGirr) Wheatland (Kae Campbell)

4.3 Multitype Library Board (Karen Basky)

The Multitype Library Board Report was presented in the Annual Report.

4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL), seconded by Sharon Bryce (RPL) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

5. Financial Report (Kae Campbell, Treasurer, Wheatland)

In the absence of Kae Campbell (Wheatland), Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) presented the Financial Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the 2011 Financial Statements be approved. Motion carried.

5.2 2012 Budget

The 2012 budget was discussed. It was agreed that previous budget year figures will be attached to the current budget for comparison purposes.

Motion: Moved by Sharron Bryce (RPL), seconded by Shelley Monson (RPL) the 2012 budget is approved as amended. Motion carried.

Motion carried.

5.3 Fee Structure 2012

There was discussion on the current fee structure. Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) explained to those present how the current fee structure operates, and that is fairly equal per region.

5.4 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2012

Motion: Moved by Gerald Kleisinger (RPL), seconded by Elaine Kivisto (RPL) that the SLTA research and appoint an accounting firm to complete the 2012 Financial Review. Motion carried.

6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland – Donna Hartley, Southeast)

The resolutions committee received no resolutions prior to the receipt deadline. There were two resolutions received from the floor.

Lorna Black (PNLS) moved that the following resolution be accepted:

Whereas since 1990, the cost of living has increased across Canada by 48.4%, the provincial minimum wage has increased by 100%, and the increase in provincial base operational funding for public libraries has risen by only 24.6% across the province, therefore be it resolved that the SLTA organize a province-wide campaign to increase operational funding for libraries.

Seconded by Gerald Kleisinger (RPL).

Motion carried in contention (one opposed).

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) moved that the following resolution be accepted:

Whereas the cancellation of the CAP Funding by the federal government is causing serious financial hardship to libraries in Saskatchewan, be it resolved that the SLTA prepare correspondence for signature of the Chair expressing the very serious consequences of their decision to cancel CAP Funding. This correspondence is to be sent to the appropriate federal minister with copy for the provincial minister of libraries.

Seconded by Gerald Kleisinger (RPL).

Motion carried with the following amendment "This correspondence is to be sent to the appropriate federal minister with copy for Saskatchewan Members of Parliament". (This amendment was accepted by the floor without being moved and seconded.) Marilyn Rovensky (Wapiti) moved that the resolution further be amended to read "This correspondence is to be sent to all federal ministers with copy for Saskatchewan Members of Parliament".

Seconded by Linda Linnen (Chinook).

Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL), seconded by Sharron Bryce (RPL) that the above resolution be forwarded to the CLA for their AGM. Motion carried.

7. Nominations Committee (Maureen McGirr, Wapiti – Kae Campbell, Wheatland)

Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) and Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) agreed to let their names stand for position of President. Maureen McGirr agreed to let her name stand for position of Vice President.

8. Election of President and Vice President (Bev Dubois, SPL)

8.1 President

Bev Dubois (SPL) called three times for nominations from the floor for President. There were no nominations from the floor.

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL), seconded by Sharron Bryce (RPL) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) and Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) were both given the opportunity to speak before election for President. Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) was elected President.

8.2 Vice President

Bev Dubois (SPL) called three times for nominations from the floor for Vice President. Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) for the position of Vice President. Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) declined the nomination.

Motion: Moved by Shelley Monson (RPL), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Maureen McGirr is declared Vice President.

9. Other Business

Bev Dubois (SPL) presented a farewell gift to Lorna Black (PNLS) and thanked her for being a very integral part of the SLTA Board.

Richard Beck (Wheatland) was asked to present Kae Campbell (Wheatland) with her farewell gift and to thank her for her many dedicated years of service to the SLTA.

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) presented Bev Dubois (SPL) with a farewell gift and thanked her for her service and dedication to the SLTA.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the AGM adjourn at 10:00 a.m. Motion carried.

2012 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Sharon Armstrong, Parkland Richard Beck, Wheatland Gail Beuhler, Chinook Lorna Black, PNLS Sharron Bryce, RPL Bev Dubois, SPL Myrna Foster, Wheatland Donna Hartley, Southeast Elaine Kivisto, RPL Gerald Kleisinger, RPL Linda Linnen, Chinook Shelley Monson, RPL Marilyn Rovensky, Wapiti Dennis Taylor, Lakeland Jeannie Walker, Wapiti Terry Gabel, Palliser

Guests:

Karen Basky, Multitype Library Board Barbara Bulat, Provincial Library and Literacy Office Joanne Havelock, Friends of Regina Public Library Audrey Mark, PNLS Jeff Barber, RPL