Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting



May 4th, 2013 TCU Place, Saskatoon

1. Call to Order

The 2013 Annual General meeting was held at TCU Place in Saskatoon and was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) acting as chair.

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) welcomed everyone to the 2013 AGM.

Gerald introduced Kimberley Hintz, new to the Provincial Library. Kimberley is working with systems and SLTA on trustee development. Information will be available by fall 2013.

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Elaine Kivisto (RPL) that the agenda be adopted. Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti), seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS) that Audrey Mark (Director, PNLS) be appointed Parliamentarian. Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2012 AGM Held May 5, 2012 in Regina.

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL), seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that the minutes be adopted. Motion carried.

3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

4. Reports

4.1 President (Gerald Kleisinger, RPL)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) presented his report.

Elaine Kivisto (RPL) commended Southeast and SLTA for the work they are doing.

4.2 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler) Lakeland (Dennis Taylor) Parkland (Sharon Armstrong) PNLS (Lorna Black) Regina (Gerald Kleisinger) Saskatoon (Mairin Loewen) Southeast (Donna Hartley) Wapiti (Maureen McGirr) Wheatland (Richard Beck)

4.3 Multitype Library Board (Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian)

The Multitype Library Board Report was presented in the Annual Report.

4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

Brett added that Julie Arie is the new Director of Public Library Planning for Provincial Library.

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL), seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) to receive and file all reports. Motion carried.

5. Financial Report (Donna Hartley, Treasurer, Southeast)

Donna Hartley, Treasurer (Southeast) presented the Financial Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to receive the 2012 financial review. Motion carried.

5.2 2013 Budget

The 2013 budget was reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS) to receive the 2013 budget. Motion carried.

5.3 Fee Structure 2013 (no changes)

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) noted that the fee structure was included in the annual report for information only. She also noted it SLTA does not have many individual members.

5.4 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2013

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) that the SLTA appoint PM Services (Bookkeeping) to complete the 2013 Financial Review.

Motion carried.

6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

The resolutions committee received no resolutions prior to the receipt deadline.

7. Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) agreed to let his name stand for President. Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) agreed to let her name stand for Vice President.

8. Election of President and Vice President (Gerald Kleisinger, RPL)

8.1 President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) for the position of President.

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Elaine Kivisto (RPL) that nominations cease. Motion carried.

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) is re-elected President.

8.2 Vice President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) for the position of Vice President.

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Gail Beuhler that nominations cease. Motion carried.

Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) is re-elected Vice President.

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) commended Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) for her commitment and dedication.

9. Other Business

Arlene Pederson (Wheatland) commented on the quality of the SLTA newsletter.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Elaine Kivisto (RPL) that the AGM adjourn at 9:20 a.m. Motion carried.

2013 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Richard Beck, Wheatland Gail Beuhler, Chinook Lorna Black, PNLS Donna Hartley, Southeast Gerald Kleisinger, RPL Dennis Taylor, Lakeland Terry Gabel, Palliser Myrna Foster, Wheatland Elaine Kivisto, RPL Ken Sutherland, Southeast Mairin Loewen, SPL Arlene Pederson, Wheatland Linda Linnen, Chinook Maureen McGirr, Wapiti Marilyn Rovensky, Wapiti Jeannie Walker, Wapiti Sheila Soulier, Wapiti Richard Beck, Wheatland

Guests:

Audrey Mark, PNLS Allan Johnson, Southeast Brett Waytuck, Provincial Library John Murray, Wapiti Kimberley Hintz, Provincial Library