# Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting



May 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2014 Temple Gardens Moose Jaw, SK

#### 1. Call to Order

The 2014 Annual General meeting was held at Temple Gardens in Moose Jaw and was called to order at 11:00 a.m. by President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) acting as chair.

### 1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) welcomed everyone to the 2014 AGM.

Gerald informed trustees that SLTA has just approved a province wide promotion campaign for libraries. He encouraged trustees to join SLTA in this endeavour.

Gerald also pointed out that SLTA is the only group with access to the Minister of Libraries. SLTA has always prepared a yearly Minister's Brief - presented to the Minister by the President, Vice-President and Executive Director in the fall of each year. Lorna Black (PNLS) has suggested a meeting with the Minister prior to this where the whole of SLTA is present. After such meeting the brief will be prepared. In addition, Richard Beck (Wheatland) suggested it is time for SLTA to put forth a business plan to the Minister.

#### 1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Allie Raycraft (Lakeland), seconded by Jeanne Langhorne (PNLS) that the agenda be adopted.

Motion carried.

#### 1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that Audrey Mark (Director, PNLS) be appointed Parliamentarian.

Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2013 AGM Held May 4<sup>th</sup>, 2013 in Saskatoon.

Motion: Moved by Richard Beck (Wheatland), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the minutes be adopted.

Motion carried.

### 3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

### 4. Reports

### 4.1 President (Gerald Kleisinger, RPL)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) presented his report.

### 4.2 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler)
Lakeland (Dennis Taylor)
Parkland (Sharon Armstrong)
PNLS (Lorna Black)
Regina (Gerald Kleisinger)
Saskatoon (Mairin Loewen)
Southeast (Donna Hartley)
Wapiti (Maureen McGirr)
Wheatland (Richard Beck)

## 4.3 Multitype Library Board (Richard Beck, Wheatland)

The Multitype Library Board Report was presented in the Annual Report.

#### 4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Brett Waytuck, Provincial Librarian)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by Marilyn Rovensky (Wapiti), seconded by Richard Beck (Wheatland) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

#### 5. Financial Report (Donna Hartley, Treasurer, Southeast)

Donna Hartley, Treasurer (Southeast) presented the Financial Report.

#### **5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements**

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Allie Raycraft (Lakeland) to receive the 2013 financial review.

Motion carried.

#### 5.2 2014 Budget

The 2014 budget was reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dianne Sander (Southeast) to receive the 2014 budget.

Motion carried.

### 5.3 Fee Structure 2014 (no changes)

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) noted that the fee structure was included in the annual report for information only.

### 5.4 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2014

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that the SLTA appoint GWO Bookkeeping Service to complete the 2014 Financial Review.

Motion carried.

#### 6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

The resolutions committee received no resolutions prior to the receipt deadline.

### 7. Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) agreed to let his name stand for President. Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) agreed to let her name stand for Vice President.

#### 8. Election of President and Vice President (Gerald Kleisinger, RPL)

#### 8.1 President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) for the position of President.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) is re-elected President. Gerald thanked trustees for their support and promised to continue working hard for them.

#### 8.2 Vice President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) for the position of Vice President.

# Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS) that nominations cease. Motion carried.

Vice-President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) is re-elected Vice President.

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) mentioned how well Maureen represents trustees.

#### 9. Other Business

None.

# 10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that the AGM adjourn at 11:34 a.m. Motion carried.

# 2013 AGM Attendees

#### Trustees:

Gerald Kleisinger, RPL Marilyn Rovensky, Wapiti Dennis Taylor, Lakeland Mary Lou LaVallee, PNLS Gail Beuhler, Chinook Terry Gabel, Palliser Richard Thommes, PNLS Dianne Sander. Southeast Allie Raycraft, Lakeland Ken Sutherland, Southeast Lorna Black, PNLS Carol Cundall, Southeast Jeanne Langhorne, PNLS Arlene Pederson, Wheatland Donna Hartley, Southeast Sharon Armstrong, Parkland Richard Beck, Wheatland Mike Klein, Palliser

#### **Guests:**

Audrey Mark, PNLS
Allan Johnson, Southeast
Brett Waytuck, Provincial Library
Kimberley Hintz, Provincial Library
Jeff Barber, RPL
Joanne Havelock, Friends of RPL
Donna Challis, Lakeland
Jan Smith, Palliser