

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting

May 7th, 2016 Radisson Hotel Saskatoon, SK

1. Call to Order

The 2016 Annual General meeting was held at the Radisson Hotel in Saskatoon and was called to order at 10:30 a.m. by President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland).

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) welcomed everyone to the 2016 AGM.

Dennis introduced the three new SLTA board members – Lukas Miller (SPL), Elmer Brenner (RPL), and Sharon Cameron (Wapiti).

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Jeanne Langhorne (PNLS) that the agenda be adopted.

Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) was appointed Parliamentarian at the SLTA Pre-AGM meeting prior to the AGM.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2015 AGM Held May 9th, 2015 in Regina.

Motion: Moved by Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Elmer Brenner (RPL) that the minutes be adopted.

Motion carried.

3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

4. Reports

4.1 President (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Attendees were given the opportunity to read the report submitted by President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland).

4.2 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler)
Lakeland (Dennis Taylor)
Parkland (Sharon Armstrong)
PNLS (Lorna Black)
Regina (Elmer Brenner)
Saskatoon (Lukas Miller)
Southeast (Donna Hartley)
Wapiti (Sharon Cameron)
Wheatland (Sandra MacArthur)

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) thanked out-going Director Allan Johnson for all his work on behalf of libraries in Saskatchewan.

Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) thanked out-going Director Audrey Mark for all her work on behalf of libraries in Saskatchewan and contributions to SLTA.

4.3 Multitype Library Board (Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Multitype Library Board Report was presented in the Annual Report.

4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

As of August 1 Provincial Library & Literacy Office will be reporting to a new deputy-minister – Rob Currie, former director of Regina Catholic Schools.

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

5. Financial Report (Donna Hartley, Treasurer, Southeast)

Donna Hartley, Treasurer (Southeast) presented the Financial Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Jeanne Langhorne (PNLS) to receive the 2015 financial review.

Motion carried.

5.2 2016 Budget

The 2016 budget was reviewed. Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) proudly commented that SLTA has been able to save on meeting expenses.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Sharon Cameron (Wapiti) to receive the 2016 budget.

Motion carried.

5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2016

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that the SLTA appoint GWO Bookkeeping Service to complete the 2016 Financial Review.

Motion carried.

President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) and Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) thanked Executive Director Nancy Kennedy for her efforts.

6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

The resolutions committee received no resolutions prior to the receipt deadline.

7. Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast/Sandra MacArthur, Wheatland)

Lorna Black (PNLS) put her name forth for President. Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) put her name forth for Vice-President.

8. Election of President and Vice-President (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast/Sandra MacArthur, Wheatland)

8.1 President

Motion: Sandra MacArthur (Wheatland) nominated Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) for the position of President.

Motion: Moved by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) seconded by Elmer Brenner (RPL) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Lorna Black (PNLS) is elected President.

8.2 Vice-President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) for the position of Vice-President.

Motion: Moved by Sandra MacArthur (Wheatland), seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) is elected Vice-President.

9. Other Business

Dennis noted that there is a current list of the SLTA board members on the last page of the Annual Report. Please feel free to contact with questions.

Sharon noted that the Executive Director, Provincial Librarian and Multitype Library Representative are not SLTA board members and are non-voting.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that the AGM adjourn at 10:56 a.m. Motion carried.

2016 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Dennis Taylor, Lakeland
Gail Beuhler, Chinook
Ken Sutherland, Southeast
Lorna Black, PNLS
Donna Hartley, Southeast
Sharon Armstrong, Parkland
Lukas Miller, SPL
Elmer Brenner, RPL
Sandra MacArthur, Wheatland
Carol Cundall, Southeast
Jeanne Langhorne, PNLS
Darlene Morin, PNLS
Sharon Cameron, Wapiti

Guests:

Audrey Mark, PNLS
Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office
Jeff Barber, RPL
Eleanor Crumbleholme, Lakeland
Allan Johnson, Southeast
Tony Murphy, Wapiti