

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting

May 3rd, 2019
Estevan Room
Hilton Garden Inn Downtown
Saskatoon, SK

1. Call to Order

The 2019 Annual General Meeting was held at the Hilton Garden Inn, Saskatoon and was called to order at 9:30 am by President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland).

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) welcomed everyone to the 2019 AGM.

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by Michael Morrow (Chinook) that the agenda be adopted.

Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that Alison Hopkins, Provincial Librarian, be appointed Parliamentarian.

Motion carried.

Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) was appointed Secretary in Nancy Kennedy's (Executive Director) absence.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that Dennis Taylor be appointed Secretary of the AGM.

Motion Carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2018 AGM Held May 4^h, 2018 in Regina.

The minutes were read. Amendments were made to correct some name spellings.

Motion: Moved by Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that the minutes be adopted as amended.

Motion carried.

3. Business Arising From the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. Reports

4.1 Library System Reports Question Period

Reports from regions were included in the Annual Report. There was no discussion.

President Sharon Armstrong presented an oral report on the Library Engagement Session.

4.2 Multitype Library Board and Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Sandra MacArthur/Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

5. Financial Report

Steven Allen (Wheatland) presented the Financial Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by Michael Morrow (Chinook) to receive the 2018 financial review.

Motion carried.

5.2 2019 Budget

The 2019 budget was reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) to receive the 2019 budget.

Motion carried.

5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2020

Motion: Moved by Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that Leslee Serack (Wapiti) will contact Executive Director Nancy Kennedy to have signatory changed and will contact Pam Morris to see if she will conduct the financial review for 2020.

Motion carried.

6. Resolutions Committee (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

No resolutions were received.

7. Nominations Committee (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Michael Morrow (Chinook) put his name forth for President. Steven Allen (Wheatland) put his name forth for Vice-President. Leslee Serack (Wapiti) put her name forth for Treasurer.

8. Election of President and Vice-President (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

8.1 President

Motion: Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Michael Morrow (Chinook) for the position of President.

Motion: Moved by Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Michael Morrow (Chinook) was elected President.

8.2 Vice-President

Motion: Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Steven Allen (Wheatland) for the position of Vice-President.

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Steven Allen (Wheatland) was elected Vice-President.

8.3 Treasurer

Motion: Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Leslee Serack (Wapiti) for the position of Treasurer.

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Leslee Serack (Wapiti) was elected treasurer.

9. New Business

There was no new business.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) that the AGM adjourn at 10:00 am.

Motion carried.

2019 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) Michael Morrow (Chinook) Steven Allen (Wheatland) John Thronberg (SPL) Leslee Serack (Wapiti) Darlene Morin (PNLS)

Guests:

Alison Hopkins, Provincial Librarian Doug Osmond (Chinook) Cassandra Mireau (Wheatland) Kim Hebig (Wheatland)