

Saskatchewan Library Trustees' Association

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association **Annual General Meeting**

Thursday, October 1, 2020 Zoom Conference Call 7:00 pm

1. Call to Order

The 2020 Annual General Meeting was held by Zoom Conference Call and was called to order at 7:06 pm by Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland).

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) welcomed everyone to the 2020 AGM and reiterated the successful dialogue SLTA had with Minister Wyant.

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL) that the agenda be adopted. Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) that Sandra MacArthur (Multi-type Library Board) be appointed Parliamentarian. Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2019 AGM held May 3rd, 2019 in Saskatoon.

The minutes were read.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) that the minutes be adopted. Motion carried.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. Reports

4.1 Library System Reports Question Period

Reports from regions were included in the Annual Report. There was no discussion.

4.2 Multitype Library Board and Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Sandra MacArthur/Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

Due to the Provincial Election there was no report from Provincial Library & Literacy Office. The Multitype Library report was presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to receive and file all reports. Motion carried.

5. Financial Report

Executive Director Nancy Kennedy presented the Financial Report as presented in the Annual Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) to receive the 2019 financial review. Motion carried.

5.2 2020 Budget

The 2020 budget was reviewed as presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL) to receive the 2020 budget. Motion carried.

5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2020

Motion: Moved by Darlene Morin (PNLS), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL) that GWO Bookkeeping Services conduct the financial review for 2020. Motion carried.

6. Resolutions Committee (Acting President Steven Allen, Wheatland)

The following resolution from Wheatland was received:

"WHEREAS new voices in a volunteer organization nourish developing and diverse ideas, THEREFORE be it resolved that the SLTA establish staggered term limits to the officer's positions."

After discussion, the following motion was made.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL) that the resolution submitted from Wheatland be tabled until SLTA has a full slate of representatives from its member regions. Motion carried with three votes in favor and two votes opposed.

SLTA AGM October 1, 2020 (Zoom Conference Call)

The item will come back to the table at the next SLTA meeting. The board will advise direction if there is found to be need for change.

7. Nominations Committee (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) brought forth the following names for SLTA executive:

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) for position of President Darlene Morin (PNLS) for position of Vice-President John Thronberg (SPL) for position of Treasurer.

8. Election of President and Vice-President (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

8.1 President

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) for the position of President.

There were no nominations from the floor.

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) was elected President by acclamation.

8.2 Vice-President

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Darlene Morin (PNLS) for the position of Vice-President.

There were no nominations from the floor.

Darlene Morin (PNLS) was elected Vice-President by acclamation.

8.3 Treasurer

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated John Thronberg (SPL) for the position of Treasurer.

There were no nominations from the floor.

John Thronberg (SPL) was elected treasurer.

9. New Business

There was no new business.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Treasurer John Thronberg (SPL) that the AGM adjourn at 7:44 pm. Motion carried.

2020 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) Sandra MacArthur (Multitype Library Board) John Thronberg (SPL) Darlene Morin (PNLS)

Guests:

Gayle Brown (Wheatland) Amy Rankin (SLA President)