Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting Saturday, May 7, 2011

TCU Place, Saskatoon

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

The 2011 Annual General Meeting was held at TCU Place and was called to order at 11:15 a.m. by President, Councillor Bev Dubois (SPL), acting as chair.

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

Councillor Bev Dubois introduced the head table including Vice-President Dennis Taylor; Treasurer Kae Campbell and acting secretary Donna Hartley.

1.2 Acceptance of Agenda

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) moved acceptance of the agenda. Seconded by Gerald Kleisinger (Regina). Carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Lorna Black (PNLS) moved the acceptance of Ray Biberdorf (PNLS) as Parliamentarian. Seconded by Maureen McGirr (Wapiti). Carried.

2. Minutes of 2010 AGM held May 7, 2010

Lorna Black (PNLS) moved that the minutes as circulated be adopted. Seconded by Linda Linnen (Chinook). Carried.

3. Business Arising from Minutes

None.

4. Reports

4.1 President (Councillor Bev Dubois, SPL)

President Dubois shared highlights from her report. She extended special thanks to former Provincial Librarian, Joylene Campbell for all the support she has given to SLTA over her years in the Provincial Library and Literacy Office. She also expressed thanks to Wendy Thienes, former SLTA Executive Director for her support and dedication to her job.

4.2 Systems Reports

Reports were either included in the Annual Report or available at the meeting.

4.3 Multitype Library Board

Karen Basky is the representative on SLTA from the Multitype Library Board. Her report was included in the Annual Report.

4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office

Brett Waytuck is the new Provincial Librarian.

5. Auditor's Report and Financial Statements (Treasurer Kae Campbell, Wheatland)

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements Kae Campbell presented the 2010 financial review

Kae Campbell presented the 2010 financial review engagement report by Ross Johnston, Accountant from Wilkie, SK. Cash on hand at December 31, 2010 at the Royal Bank of Canada in Ogema was \$13,332. The Statement of Revenues and Expenditures showed a gain of \$4,041. GIC investments total \$20,000.

Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) moved acceptance of the financial package as presented. Seconded by Arlene Pederson (Wheatland). Carried.

5.2 2011 Budget

Treasurer Kae Campbell presented the 2011 budget to the membership, as approved by the Executive.

Allan Johnson, on behalf of Ken Sutherland (Southeast) presented the idea of SLTA using the new video conferencing system for meetings as a cost saving measure. By September 2011, the equipment will be available in each library system headquarters.

5.3 Fee Structure

A fee structure comparison for 2008 – 2011 was included in the Annual Report.

5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for 2011 Financial Review

Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) moved to waive an audit in favour of a financial review for 2011. Seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook). Carried.

Lorna Black (PNLS) moved to appoint Ross Johnston to review our 2011 financial statements. Seconded by Donna Hartley (Southeast). Carried.

6. Resolutions (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

No resolutions were received.

7. Nominations (Kae Campbell, Wheatland)

Kae Campbell reported that Bev Dubois has agreed to let her name stand for re-election as President and that Dennis Taylor has agreed to let his name stand for re-election as Vice President.

8. Election of President and Vice-President

8.1 Kae called three times for nominations from the floor for President. Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) moved nominations cease. Seconded by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland). Carried.

Bey Dubois was declared elected as President.

8.2 Kae called three times for nominations from the floor for Vice President. Lorna Black (PNLS) nominated Gerald Kleisinger (RPL). Gerald declined the nomination. Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) moved nominations cease. Seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook). Carried.

Dennis Taylor was declared elected as Vice President.

9. Other Business

None.

10. Adjournment

Gail Beuhler (Chinook) moved that the meeting be adjourned. Seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS). Carried. The meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

SLTA Registrants AGM – 2011

Maureen McGirr Wapiti
Donna Hartley Southeast

Gerald Kleisinger RPL

Kae Campbell Wheatland

Elaine Kivisto RPL

Karen Basky Multitype Library Board

Ken Sutherland Southeast
Gail Beuhler Chinook
Linda J. Linnen Chinook
Lorna Black PNLS
Sharon Armstrong Parkland
Ray Biberdorf PNLS

Arlene Pederson Wheatland

Bev Dubois SPL

Guests

John Murray Wapiti
Allan Johnson Southeast
Audrey Mark PNLS
Jeff Barber RPL