## Annual General Meeting, April 23, 2005

#### **MINUTES**

### Call to Order

The 2005 Annual General Meeting was held in the Saskatoon Centennial Auditorium and Conference Centre and was called to order at 10:35 a.m. by President, Karen Basky of Palliser Regional Library, who acted as Chair.

### Agenda

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Bev Dubois, Saskatoon Public Library, seconded by Kae Campbell, Wheatland. Carried.

### Parliamentarian

By consensus of the meeting Isabelle Butters was appointed to act as Parliamentarian.

### **Minutes of 2004 Annual General Meeting**

A motion to approve the Minutes was made by Maureen McGirr, Wapiti, and seconded by Donna Hartley, Southeast. Carried.

## **Business arising from Minutes**

In response to a questions from the floor, the President provided an update on the suggestion for a subcommittee on lobbying and advised that lobbying is part of the SLTA's five year plan. The President also reported on the SLTA's activities in relation to the resolution from 2004 with respect to the continuation of funding for CommunityNet.

### "Value of Libraries" Paper

Allan Johnson, Library Director from Southeast Regional Library and public libraries representative on the Department of Learning's Learning Sector Strategic Planning Committee. The preparation of the "Value of Libraries" paper resulted from the need to provide information to the Department of Learning in order to explain and promote the activities of libraries and to determine how libraries fit into the department. The paper was distributed to the meeting and may be distributed to members of municipal councils, other library board members and members of the public generally.

The President thanked Allan Johnson for his work on behalf of public libraries.

### Reports

Acceptance of the President's report, as printed in the AGM booklet, was moved by Bev Dubois, Saskatoon Public Library, and seconded by Elaine Kivisto. Carried.

The verbal report of the Provincial Librarian, Joylene Campbell was presented. Board chairs and directors have received a letter from Deputy Minister indicating that grant increase to libraries is 2% this year, plus \$300,000 in the foundation operating grant (K to 12 money) to encourage pilot projects and co-operative projects between school divisions and library systems over three years (proposal based). This is in addition to the \$250,000 in Aboriginal funding. It has been suggested that a library-oriented workshop on

Governance and Financial Accountability would be of great assistance and that the SLTA could play an important role in assisting to develop and implement such a program.

Acceptance of the reports from the library systems was moved by James Taylor, Palliser, and seconded by Kathy Burnet, Regina Beach. Carried.

## **Auditor's Report and Financial Statements**

The financial statements were presented and moved for adoption by Maureen McGirr, Treasurer, Wapiti, and seconded by Janet Wilkinson, Chinook. Carried.

## 2005 Budget

The budget for 2005 was presented by Maureen McGirr, Treasurer, Wapiti.

The motion to adopt the budget was moved by Maureen McGirr, Treasurer, Wapiti, and seconded by James Taylor, Palliser. Carried.

### **Constitution and Bylaws**

Amendment No. 1: moved by Elaine Kivisto, seconded by Art Battiste. Carried.

Amendment No. 2: moved by Sharon Armstrong, seconded by Bev Dubois. Carried.

Motion by Art Battiste that SLTA conduct an audit with respect to 2003 and 2004 (the period of time during which CommunityNet funding was received) seconded by Elaine Kivisto. Carried.

Amendment No. 3: moved by Bev Dubois, Saskatoon, seconded by Kae Campbell, Wheatland. Carried.

Amendment No. 4: moved by Elaine Kivisto, Regina, seconded by Donna Hartley, Southeast. Carried.

Amendment No. 5: moved by Elaine Kivisto, Regina, seconded by Kathy Evans, Saskatoon, that section 10.3 of the Constitution and Bylaws be rescinded and replaced by the following:

Copies of the proposed amendment shall be mailed to the membership at least one calendar month before the date of the Annual Meeting or by email to the address provided by the member. Carried.

### Resolutions Committee Report

(Resolutions as proposed are attached to these Minutes as Appendix I.)

Resolution 1 with respect to Digital Copyright was moved by Michael Becker, and seconded by Donna Hartley, Southeast. Carried.

### **Nominations Committee Report**

Donna Hartley, Southeast Regional Library, Chair of the Nominations Committee, nominated Karen Basky, Palliser, seconded by Bev Dubois, for President. The Chair called three times for further nominations from the floor. It was moved by Art Battiste, Saskatoon, seconded by Sharon Armstrong, Parkland, that nominations cease. Carried.

Karen Basky was declared elected as President.

Donna Hartley, Southeast Regional Library, Chair of the Nominations Committee, nominated Elaine Kivisto, Regina Public Library, seconded by Maureen McGirr, for Vice-President. The Chair called three times for further nominations from the floor. It was moved by Kathy Evans, seconded by Joan Spencer, that nominations cease. Carried.

Elaine Kivisto was declared elected as Vice-President.

### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at approximately noon.

## **APPENDIX I: RESOLUTIONS, April 23, 2005**

### Resolution 1 - Copyright Act Amendments

WHEREAS, in May 2004, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage issued an Interim Report recommending changes to the Copyright Act in order to bring Canada's copyright legislation into the digital environment.WHEREAS, the Committee's recommendations, if enacted by Parliament, will seriously hinder the public's access to information; WHEREAS the Committee's Interim Report is flawed for the following reasons: The Report undermines the Government's "commitment to lifelong learning, innovation and access to culture, and the need to preserve balance in the Act" (Supporting Culture and Innovation: Report on the Provisions and Operation of the Copyright Act, p. 36) and ignores Ronald Hirshhorn's study for Industry Canada on Assessing the Economic Impact of Copyright Reform in the Area of Technology-Enhanced Learning. The Report ignores the fact that the Internet is not primarily a commercial marketplace, but rather the "commons" or public park of the new electronic-based global village. The Report would grant collective societies monopoly control over the access to and use of copyright works for the lifetime of the author plus fifty years. The Report ignores the concept of user rights (to access copyrighted content) and the criteria for fair dealing, both of which have been endorsed in recent Supreme Court decisions. • The Report further disadvantages Canadian students, educators, librarians, archivists and researchers in comparison to their colleagues in the U.S., the U.K., and Australia;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the SLTA Executive urge the Government of Canada and all Members of Parliament to reject the recommendations of the House of Commons Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage as contained in its May 2004 Interim Report.

# **SLTA Registrants AGM 2005**

Allie Raycraft
Betty Leslie
Bill Wilke
C. Arthur Battiste
Caroll Hilderbrandt
David Anderson
Dianne Sander
Donna Hartley
Elaine Kivisto
Gordon F. Yarde
Heather Shillingford

Ilene Lequyere
James Taylor
Jean Nelson
Karen Basky
Kathy Evans
Lorraine Bucsis
Louise Cochran
M.Isabelle Butters
Maureen McGirr
Myrna Foster
Sharon Armstrong
Sharon Cowan
Shirley Lomheim
Janet Wilkinson
Kae Campbell