

Saskatchewan Library Trustees' Association

# Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association **Annual General Meeting**

# May 4<sup>th</sup>, 2018 Swift Current Room **Doubletree Hotel and Convention Centre** Regina, SK

# 1. Call to Order

The 2018 Annual General meeting was held at the Doubletree Hotel and Convention Centre in Regina and was called to order at 9:40 am by President Lorna Black (PNLS).

# **1.1 Welcoming Remarks**

President Lorna Black (PNLS) welcomed everyone to the 2018 AGM.

# 1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that the agenda be adopted. Motion carried.

**1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian** 

Motion: Moved by, Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Leslee Serack (Wapiti) be appointed Parliamentarian. Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2017 AGM Held May 5<sup>h</sup>, 2017 in Elkridge.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the minutes be adopted. Motion carried.

# 3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

# 4. Reports

# 4.1 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler) Lakeland (Dennis Taylor) Parkland (Sharon Armstrong) PNLS () Saskatoon () Southeast (Donna Hartley) Wapiti (Leslee Serack) Wheatland (Steven Allen)

# 4.2 Multitype Library Board and Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Sandra MacArthur/Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

#### Motion: Moved by Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Dianne Sander to receive and file all reports. Motion carried.

# 5. Financial Report (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) presented the Financial Report.

## 5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

## Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) to receive the 2017 financial review. Motion carried.

#### 5.2 2018 Budget

The 2018 budget was reviewed.

#### Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) to receive the 2018 budget. Motion carried.

#### 5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2018

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the SLTA appoint GWO Bookkeeping Service to complete the 2018 Financial Review. Motion carried.

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) thanked Executive Director Nancy Kennedy for all her hard work.

#### 6. Resolutions Committee (Vice-President Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

No resolutions were received other than the following bylaw changes.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that item 1.4 Institutional Membership be removed from SLTA Bylaws.

## Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that "or institution" be added after "resident" on item 1.2 SLTA Bylaws. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Michael Morrow (Chinook) that "by their system" be removed from item 1.1. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that "System Membership—The seven regional Library Systems, the Pahkisimon Nuye?ah Library System and the municipal library systems are eligible to appoint or elect a member to the Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Executive upon payment of their annual membership fees. (Voting member)" be added to SLTA Bylaws as item 1.1. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), second by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that "it" in item 2.5 be changed to read "the executive".

## Motion carried.

President Lorna Black introduced Darlene Morin as the new PNLS SLTA representative.

## 7. Nominations Committee (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) has put her name forth for President. There were no nominations for Vice-President.

# 8. Election of President and Vice-President (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

#### 8.1 President

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) for the position of President.

#### Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that nominations cease. Motion carried.

Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) is elected President.

# 8.2 Vice-President

Motion: Gail Beuhler (Chinook) nominated Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) for the position of Vice-President.

#### Motion: Moved by Dianne Sander (Southeast), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that nominations cease. Motion carried.

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) is elected Vice-President.

## 9. Other Business

President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) thanked Lorna Black (PNLS) for all her efforts on SLTA, wished her well and hoped she is back on SLTA one day.

Lorna Black (PNLS) congratulated President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) and Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) on their election wins. Lorna Black (PNLS) expressed her gratitude to STLA and stated it was an honour to be on the board.

## 10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Past-President Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that the AGM adjourn at 10:20 am. Motion carried.

## 2018 AGM Attendees

## Trustees:

Dennis Taylor, Lakeland Donna Hartley, Southeast Leslee Serack, Wapiti Gail Beuhler, Chinook Sharon Armstrong, Parkland Lorna Black, PNLS Steven Allen, Wheatland Darlene Morin, PNLS Chris Halkett, PNLS Dianne Sander, Southeast Marriette McCallum, PNLS

#### **Guests:**

Kate-Lee Nolin (Southeast) Kim Hebig (Wheatland) Darrell Yates (Lakeland)