

# Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting

Tuesday, June 29, 2021 Zoom Conference Call 7:00 pm

#### 1. Call to Order

The 2021 Annual General Meeting was held by Zoom conference call and was called to order at 7:03 pm by President Steven Allen (Wheatland).

## 1.1 Welcoming Remarks

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) welcomed everyone to the 2021 AGM and thanked everyone for serving as board members.

The training materials SLTA has prepared - "In a Nutshell" and the brand new videos - have been well received. SLTA will have the opportunity to look at advocacy over the next year. President Allen stated the importance of networking and the presentation of the Minister's Brief. Both provide the organization a means to explain its purpose and show its support of libraries.

## 1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) that the agenda be adopted.

Motion carried.

## 1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti) that Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) be appointed Parliamentarian.

Motion carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2020 AGM held via Zoom conference call Thursday, October 1<sup>st</sup>, 2020.

The minutes were included in the annual report.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) that the minutes be adopted.

Motion carried.

# 3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

#### 4. Reports

## 4.1 Library System Reports Question Period

Reports from regions were included in the annual report.

Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) apologized for the lack of report. She spoke with her director and a report will follow.

# 4.2 Multitype Library Board and Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Alison Hopkins, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Provincial Library and Literacy Office and Multitype Library Board report was included in the annual report.

Motion: Moved by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

#### 5. Financial Report

In Treasurer John Thronberg's (SPL) absence, Executive Director Nancy Kennedy presented the financial report as included in the annual report.

# 5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The financial statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti), seconded by Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) to receive the 2020 financial review.

Motion carried.

#### 5.2 2021 Budget

The 2021 budget was reviewed, and discussed, as presented in the annual report.

Motion: Moved by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti), seconded by Rod Jenkins (Chinook) that going forward, "Transfer in From Reserves" is removed as a line item in the budget.

Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti), seconded by Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) to receive the 2021 budget as amended.

Motion carried.

# 5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2021

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) that GWO Bookkeeping Services conduct the financial review for 2021.

Motion carried.

## 6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

No resolutions were received.

# 7. Nominations Committee (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) brought forth the following names for SLTA executive:

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) for position of President Darlene Morin (PNLS) for position of Vice-President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) for position of Treasurer.

## 8. Appointment of Secretary

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Executive Director Nancy Kennedy be appointed as Secretary.

Motion carried.

## 9. Election of President and Vice-President (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

#### 9.1 President

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated President Steven Allen (Wheatland) for the position of President.

Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, President Steven Allen (Wheatland) was re-elected President by acclamation.

#### 9.2 Vice-President

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Darlene Morin (PNLS) for the position of Vice-President.

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) was re-elected Vice-President by acclamation.

#### 9.3 Treasurer

Motion: Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) nominated Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) for the position of Treasurer.

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) called for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) was elected Treasurer by acclamation.

#### 10. New Business

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) thanked President Steven Allen (Wheatland) for his leadership and commitment.

# 11. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti), seconded by Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS) that the AGM adjourn at 7:32 pm.

Motion carried.

# **2021 AGM Attendees**

#### Trustees:

President Steven Allen (Wheatland)
Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS)
Treasurer Sharon Armstrong (Parkland)
Cheryl Bauer-Hyde (Wapiti)
Dennis Taylor (Lakeland)
Patrick Simpson (Chinook)

#### **Guests:**

Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) Rod Jenkins (Chinook)