

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Minutes September 29, 2021 Zoom Conference Call

Present: Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director), President Steven Allen (Wheatland), Cheryl Bauer Hyde (Wapiti), Patrick Simpson (Chinook), Sandra MacArthur (MLB), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), John Thronberg (SLP), Treasurer Sharon Armstrong (Parkland).

Regrets/Absent: Vice-President Darlene Morin (PNLS), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library and Literacy Office).

President Allen (Wheatland) called the meeting to order at 7:15 pm.

1. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Treasurer Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) to adopt the agenda with the following change: 4.1 is changed from Trustee Training to New Health Measures.

Motion carried.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

There was a correction to the June 29, 2021 minutes. Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) is marked as absent, but he was in attendance.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted with the noted correction.

Motion carried.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes None.

4. New Business

4.1 New Health Measures

With the new health measures, as of October 1, libraries are not considered an "essential" service and will be required to ask for vaccine passports. There was discussion around this issue.

Cheryl Bauer Hyde (Wapiti) pointed out that the government website does not list organizations as essential or non-essential. John noted this is a proactive motion as the regulations have not yet come from the Province.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Patrick Simpson (Chinook) to ask the government to include libraries with essential services.

Motion carried.

President Steven Allen (Wheatland) will draft a letter to be sent.

4.2 Library Advocacy Promotion

Executive Director Nancy Kennedy has requested board members supply library stories to her. These stories will be forwarded to organizations, added to the newsletter, added to Facebook, and uploaded to the website to promote Saskatchewan libraries. Board members were asked to submit by October 31.

4.3 Minister's Brief

A letter will be forwarded to systems for their input into the 2022 Minister's Brief. Suggestions will be compiled, and a draft of the brief composed. Deadline for suggestions is November 30.

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) asked board members to add the Minister's Brief to upcoming agendas.

4.4 Multitype Library Board

Lakeland Library board chair, Lesley Clark, has volunteered to let her name stand as the SLTA Multi-type Library Board representative. Lesley will forward a resume to Executive Director Nancy Kennedy and she will forward the information to the government contact.

Thank you to Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) for his efforts to secure a representative.

President Allen (Wheatland) thanked Sandra MacArthur for her service and contribution to SLTA. He noted she will be missed.

4.5 SLA Conference

The 2022 SLA conference is May 4-6, 2022 in Regina. SLA has reached out for a SLTA representative to sit on the 2022 conference committee.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), seconded by Patrick Simpson that the President/Executive Director represent SLTA on the SLA conference committee.

Motion carried.

5. Correspondence

None.

6. In-Camera

No in-camera.

7. New Business

None.

8. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be February 16, 2022 at 7:00 pm by Zoom teleconference. An agenda and meeting details will follow.

9 Adjournment
Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the meeting adjourn at 8:25 pm. Motion carried.