Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Pre and Post AGM Meeting



May 3th and 4th, 2013 TCU Place, Saskatoon

Present: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti), President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL), Lorna Black (PNLS), Mairin Loewen (SPL), Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), Gail Beuhler (Chinook), Richard Beck (Wheatland), Brett Waytuck (Provincial Library).

Regrets/Absent: None.

1. Call to Order

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Friday, May 3rd.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Richard Beck (Wheatland) that the agenda be adopted. Motion carried.

3. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion: Moved by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted. Motion carried.

4. Business Arising From the Minutes

4.1 Minister's Brief

There was a discussion on the Minister's Brief. Brett spoke to the budget process.

SLTA will arrange to meet earlier in the year to present the Minister's Brief to the Minister. Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) will contact the Minister's Office to arrange for a September meeting to present the Brief. President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) proposed a long-term staged campaign with the help of professional communications people to help SLTA raise awareness of libraries.

Motion: Moved by Richard Beck (Wheatland), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that SLTA meet to develop a project and strategy to raise a public awareness campaign with objectives as set by SLTA.

Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) that SLTA continue with the protocol of developing the Minister's Brief with the understanding that the brief be presented no later than September of each year. Motion carried.

It was noted that SLTA is not prevented from sending the brief to the Minister upon its completion and before an actual meeting date.

5. New Business

5.1 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Audrey Mark (PNLS) be appointed Parliamentarian. Motion carried.

5.2 Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) has agreed to let his name stand for President. Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) has agreed to let her name stand for Vice President. Treasurer Donna Hartley will bring both names forward at the AGM.

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) applauded Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) for her dedication and commitment.

5.3 Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

There were no resolutions received.

5.4 Budget & Financial Review (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

The budget and financial review were approved at the February SLTA meeting. Both will be presented at the AGM.

5.5 Annual Report

The annual report as prepared by Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) was circulated.

5.6 Newsletter

The newsletter will be prepared and circulated by the end of May by Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director).

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the Executive Director's contract be extended for another year. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) that the meeting adjourn at 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4th, 2013

Present: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti), President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL), Lorna Black (PNLS), Mairin Loewen (SPL), Gail Beuhler (Chinook), Richard Beck (Wheatland), Brett Waytuck (Provincial Library).

Regrets/Absent: Sharon Armstrong (Parkland)

Call to Order

President Elect Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) reconvened the meeting at 9:25 a.m.

5.7 Appointment of Secretary and Treasurer

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) be appointed Secretary. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) be appointed Treasurer. Motion carried.

6. Correspondence

There was no correspondence to circulate.

7. In-Camera

Motion: Moved by Gail Beuhler (Chinook), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the meeting move in-camera. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Vice President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti), seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS) that the meeting move out-of-camera. Motion carried.

8. Next Meeting

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) asked members to email their top three priorities for the Minister's Brief to Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) as soon as possible.

The next meeting will be in Saskatoon in September. Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) will email members to arrange a meeting date.

9. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that the meeting adjourn at 9:40 a.m. Motion carried.