Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Pre and Post AGM Meeting Minutes



May 3th, 2014 Mezzanine Room, Temple Gardens, Moose Jaw, SK

Present: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL), Lorna Black (PNLS), Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), Gail Beuhler (Chinook), Richard Beck (Wheatland), Brett Waytuck (Provincial Library).

Regrets/Absent: Mairin Loewen (SPL), Vice-President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti).

Guests: Marilyn Rovensky (Wapiti).

1. Call to Order

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) called the meeting to order at 9:00 p.m. Saturday, May 3rd.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the agenda is adopted with the addition of item 5.7 Cooperation.

Motion carried.

3. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion: Moved by Richard Beck (Wheatland), seconded by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted.

Motion carried.

4. Business Arising From the Minutes

4.1 Minister's Brief

There was a discussion on how to approach the 2014 Minister's Brief. Gerald also discussed his meeting with the Deputy Minister of Education and the Assistant Minister of Education.

The following was decided:

A Saskatchewan based business plan for libraries should be considered.

- 2) SLTA must be mindful to thank for the programming currently supported by the government.
- 3) SLTA will ask the Minister to meet with them prior to preparing the brief.

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) contact the Minister's office requesting a meeting between SLTA and the Minister in June. The location - Regina or Saskatoon – will be decided based on the Minister's preference.

Motion carried.

4.2 Promotion Campaign

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) presented a promotion campaign for SLTA. The campaign is within the realm of doable for SLTA financially. This will be a positive diplomatic campaign.

Motion: Moved by Richard Beck (Wheatland), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that the executive director be authorized to spend up to \$5,000.00 to develop, oversee, and coordinate a promotion campaign with a communication consultant.

Motion carried.

5. New Business

5.1 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Motion: Moved by Lorna Black (PNLS), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Audrey Mark (PNLS) be appointed Parliamentarian.

Motion carried.

5.2 Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL) has agreed to let his name stand for President. Vice-President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti) has agreed to let her name stand for Vice-President. Donna will bring both names forward at the AGM.

5.3 Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

There were no resolutions received.

5.4 Budget & Financial Review (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

The budget and financial review were approved at the February SLTA meeting. Both will be presented at the AGM.

5.5 Annual Report

The annual report as prepared by Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) was circulated.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that the 2013 Annual Report be received and filed.

Motion carried.

5.6 Appointment of Secretary and Treasurer

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Lorna Black (PNLS) that Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) be appointed Secretary and that Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) be reappointed Treasurer.

Motion carried.

5.7 Cooperation

Dennis queried the idea of gathering all stakeholders to meet with the Minister and advocate as a group. Brett Waytuck (Provincial Librarian) pointed out the SLTA is actually the only group who meets regularly with the Minister.

Brett Waytuck (Provincial Librarian) will arrange for regular meetings between the new SLA Executive Director, Judy Nicholson, Nancy Kennedy, SLTA Executive Director, and President Gerald Kleisinger (RPL).

6. Correspondence

Correspondence was circulated.

7. In-Camera

None.

8. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be September 5 and 6, 2014 in Warman. Details will be forwarded as soon as they become available.

9. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that the meeting adjourns at 10:45 a.m. Motion carried.