

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Pre and Post AGM Meeting Minutes May 3rd, 2019 Hilton Garden Inn Downtown, Saskatoon, SK

Present: Alison Hopkins, Provincial Librarian, Michael Morrow (Chinook), Vice-President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), Leslee Serack (Wapiti), Steve Allen (Wheatland), Darlene Morin (PNLS).

Regrets/Absent: John Thronberg (SPL), Sandra MacArthur (Multi-type Library Board), Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director).

1. Call to Order

President Sharon Armstrong called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

The order of events was changed.

The Executive Director's contract was added to the agenda.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland, seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) to adopt the agenda as amended. Motion carried.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Minutes of the previous meeting were read.

Motion: Moved by Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted. Motion carried.

4. Business Arising From the Minutes

There was a discussion on Engagement. Vice-President Dennis Taylor presented the SLTA document to the panel because President Sharon Armstrong was unable to reach Regina due to bad weather. President Sharon Armstrong did participate by telephone. The consensus was that it was a good experience.

5. New Business

5.1 Budget & Financial Review

There was a lengthy discussion in regard to budget. There was consensus that SLTA will continue to operate for at least another year. There was also consensus that SLTA needs to do more advocacy promotion and that a strategic plan is needed to cement the support SLTA has and to encourage those who are not a part of SLTA currently to become members.

Board members felt that the budget could be approved as is and money from other areas can be moved if needed.

Motion: Moved by Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Steven Allen (Wheatland) to adopt the 2019 budget. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Steven Allen (Wheatland), seconded by Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that as a cost saving strategy face to face meetings be replaced with digital meetings. Motion carried.

Zoom was suggested and training in the use of the App will be provided prior to the meeting. Steven Allen (Wheatland) will look into this for the board.

5.2 Nominations Committee (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Michael Morrow (Chinook) allowed his name to stand as President.

Steven Allen (Wheatland) allowed his name to stand as Vice-President.

Leslee Serack (Wapiti) allowed her name to stand as Treasurer.

5.3 Resolutions Committee (Vice-President Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

No resolutions were received.

Meeting adjourned temporarily at 9:30 am to conduct the Annual General Meeting.

Meeting reconvened at 10:05 pm.

John Thronberg (SPL) joined the meeting.

5.4 Minister's Brief

There was consensus that there would be no meeting with the Minister of Education for presentation of a brief this year as the focus of the department was the recent Library Engagement document.

Steven Allen (Wheatland) suggested a plan of action for the 2020 brief. Each representative is to canvas their board and develop a list of two top items to be included in the brief. Lists are to be sent to Executive Director Nancy Kennedy by September. The President, Vice-President and Executive Director will compile the brief. A draft of the brief will be circulated among the executive and approved before presentation to the Minister.

6. Correspondence

President Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) read the letter from Southeast which outlined their decision to leave SLTA for a year. Lack of leadership was cited as a reason. There was lengthy discussion of the document. There was consensus that we develop a Strategic Plan to keep the support we have and encourage non-members to become members of SLTA. The plan is to be of two parts:

- 1. Representatives are to go to their respective boards to reiterate the value of belonging to SLTA and make them aware of what SLTA can and cannot do. The document prepared by Executive Director Nancy Kennedy about what SLTA does will be used.
- 2. President Michael Morrow (Chinook) and Vice-President Steven Allen (Wheatland) will develop a plan to encourage those who seceded to rejoin SLTA. The plan will be discussed at a later meeting.

7. In-Camera

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Leslee Serack (Wapiti), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) to move In Camera at 10:43 am. Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL), seconded by Darlene Morin (PNLS) to move Out Camera at 10:49 am. Motion carried.

8. New Business

The Executive Director's contract was renewed for another year. President Michael Morrow will sign it and return to Executive Director Nancy Kennedy.

9. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be at the call of the President. Suggested dates were October 21 and October 28.

9. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Leslee Serack (Wapiti) that the meeting adjourn at 10:55 am. Motion carried.