

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Pre and Post AGM Meeting Minutes October 1, 2020 Zoom Conference Call

Present: Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director), Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), John Thronberg (SPL), Darlene Morin (PNLS), Sandra MacArthur (Multi-type Library Board).

Regrets/Absent: Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), Alison Hopkins (Provincial Library and Literacy Office).

1. Call to Order

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm.

2. Adoption of the Agenda

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to adopt the agenda.

Motion carried.

2. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL) that the minutes of the previous meeting be adopted.

Motion carried.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

None.

- 5. New Business
- 5.1 Nominations Committee (Dennis Taylor, Lakeland)

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) will put forth the following names for executive positions at the AGM:

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) – President Darlene Morin (PNLS) – Vice President John Thronberg (SPL) - Treasurer

5.2 Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

No report.

5.3 Budget and Financial Review

The budget and financial review will be addressed at the AGM.

5.4. Appointment of Secretary and Treasurer

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) that Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) continue to act as SLTA Secretary.

Motion carried.

The Treasurer will be appointed at the AGM.

5.5 Minister's Brief

A response to SLTA's follow-up letter to the Provincial Librarian was received. Of note:

- 1. The government continues to negotiate with SaskTel regard an updated contract for CommunityNet. The ministry will provide public library systems with an update when more information is available.
- 2. Concerns about the cost of electronic books have been less of a priority during the pandemic due to vendors providing expanded services and opportunities. The ministry will continue to monitor the research and activity of public library associations in this area.
- 3. There is currently no information to share concerning ideas about sustainable library funding. Minister Wyant has been provided with the numbers he requested around SILS.
- 4. The ministry worked with the sector to develop expanded guidelines around re-opening public libraries. These guidelines were approved by the Ministry of Health and have been distributed to the public library systems.

Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) noted that the federal government has pledged two billion dollars for internet services which will hopefully find some of its way to the provinces.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by John Thronberg (SPL), that Acting President Steven Allen (Wheatland) prepare a letter and circulate to board chairs requesting input on the 2021 Minister's Brief, and that this be added to their agendas as an agenda item.

Motion carried.

Deadline for the Minister's Brief is May 2021.

Sandra MacArthur (Multi-type Library Board) thanked board members for the amazing job on this year's Brief.

Meeting adjourned temporarily at 7:02 pm to conduct the Annual General Meeting. The meeting reconvened at 7:46 pm.

5.6 Promotion

The letter to systems regarding the Minister's Brief (item 5.5) will include an ask for how SLTA can help systems with both library promotion and trustee training.

5.7 Trustee Training

See item 5.6 Promotion.

6. Correspondence

None.

7. In-Camera

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to move in-camera.

Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer John Thronberg (SPL) to move out of camera.

Motion carried.

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Treasurer John Thronberg (SPL) that Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director) be gifted \$50.00, from AGM budget line, as a thank you from the board.

Motion carried.

8. New Business

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) noted that President Steven Allen (Wheatland) will reach out to board chairs from Southeast, Chinook, and Wapiti to seek SLTA representation for their systems.

9. Next Meeting

The next meeting will be January 14, 2021at 7:00 pm by Zoom teleconference.

10.9. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Treasurer John Thronberg (SPL) that the meeting adjourn at 8:11 pm. Motion carried.