

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Special Meeting - Minutes Thursday, May 21, 2020 Conference Call 7:00 pm

Present: Acting-President Steven Allen (Wheatland), Sharon Armstrong (Parkland), John Thronberg (SPL), Nancy Kennedy (Executive Director), Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), Melanie Clark (Chinook).

Regrets/Absent: Wapiti Representative, Darlene Morin (PNLS), Sandra MacArthur (Multitype Library Board).

Call to Order

Acting-President Steven Allen (Wheatland) called the meeting to order at 7:03 pm Thursday, May 21, 2020. Steven welcomed participants to the meeting and new board member Melanie Clark from Chinook to the board.

1. Postponement of AGM

Motion: Moved by John Thronberg (SPL) to postpone the AGM until the fall Motion carried.

The meeting will be held using video conferencing. A doodle poll to select a date will be sent to board members in August.

Library chairs and executive members will be invited to attend the AGM.

2. Minister's Brief

There was a discussion on the presentation of the brief. Board members would like to discuss with the Minister a coherent opening plan for libraries, and the costs involved, after the COVID 19 pandemic. This is to ensure libraries successfully achieve the protocols set forward in Phase Four of the government's opening plan.

Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) that all members of the SLTA executive be invited to attend the video conference with the Minister to discuss the Brief, with the board chair leading discussions. Motion carried.

3. Membership

Membership dues have been received by all systems who were 2019 members. A grant from Provincial Library will be received shortly.

4. Executive Director Contract

Motion: Moved by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to extend the Executive Director's contract for June 1, 2020 to May 31, 2021. Motion carried.

- 5. Adjournment
- Motion: Moved by Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) that the meeting adjourn at 8:20 pm. Motion carried.