

Saskatchewan Library Trustees Association Annual General Meeting

May 9th, 2015 Doubletree Inn by Hilton Regina, SK

1. Call to Order

The 2015 Annual General meeting was held at the Doubletree Inn by Hilton in Regina and was called to order at 10:05 a.m. by Interim Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) acting as chair.

1.1 Welcoming Remarks

Interim Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) welcomed everyone to the 2015 AGM.

Introductions were made around the table.

1.2 Approval of Agenda

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Dianne Sander (Southeast) that the agenda be adopted.

Motion carried.

1.3 Appointment of Parliamentarian

Sharon Armstrong (Parkland) was appointed Parliamentarian at the SLTA Pre-AGM meeting prior to the AGM.

2. Approval of the Minutes of the 2014 AGM Held May 3rd, 2014 in Moose Jaw.

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Dianne Sander (Southeast) that the minutes be adopted.

Motion carried.

3. Business Arising From the Minutes

None.

4. Reports

4.1 President (Interim President Maureen McGirr, Wapiti)

Attendees were given the opportunity to read the report submitted by Interim President Maureen McGirr (Wapiti).

4.2 Library System Reports Question Period

The Library System Reports were presented in the Annual Report.

Chinook (Gail Beuhler)
Lakeland (Dennis Taylor)
Parkland (Sharon Armstrong)
PNLS (Lorna Black)
Regina (Darryl Lucke)
Saskatoon (Mairin Loewen)
Southeast (Donna Hartley)
Wapiti (Maureen McGirr)
Wheatland (Sandra MacArthur)

Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) pointed out that 2016 marks the 50th anniversary for Southeast. She asked members to watch for celebration activities and material.

4.3 Multitype Library Board (Julie Arie, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Multitype Library Board Report was presented in the Annual Report.

4.4 Provincial Library & Literacy Office (Julie Arie, Provincial Library and Literacy Office)

The Provincial Library & Literacy Office Report was presented in the Annual Report.

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Darryl Lucke (RPL) to receive and file all reports.

Motion carried.

5. Financial Report (Donna Hartley, Treasurer, Southeast)

Donna Hartley, Treasurer (Southeast) presented the Financial Report.

5.1 Review Engagement Report and Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Darryl Lucke (RPL) to receive the 2014 financial review.

Motion carried.

5.2 2014 Budget

The 2015 budget was reviewed.

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) to receive the 2015 budget as amended reflecting the use of one \$10,000.00 GIC for the Trustee Training Program.

Motion carried.

5.3 Appointment of Accounting Firm for Financial Review for 2015

SLTA AGM May 9th, 2015 (Regina)

Motion: Moved by Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast), seconded by Mairin Loewen (SPL) that the SLTA appoint GWO Bookkeeping Service to complete the 2015 Financial Review.

Motion carried.

Donna thanked Executive Director Nancy Kennedy for her efforts.

6. Resolutions Committee (Sharon Armstrong, Parkland)

The resolutions committee received no resolutions prior to the receipt deadline.

7. Nominations Committee (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) put his name forth for President. Interim Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) put her name forth for Vice-President.

8. Election of President and Vice President (Treasurer Donna Hartley, Southeast)

8.1 President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) for the position of President.

Motion: Moved by Ken Sutherland (Southeast), seconded by Gail Beuhler (Chinook) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Dennis Taylor (Lakeland) is elected President.

8.2 Vice-President

Motion: Treasurer Donna Hartley (Southeast) nominated Interim Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) for the position of Vice-President.

Motion: Moved by President Dennis Taylor (Lakeland), seconded by Ken Sutherland (Southeast) that nominations cease.

Motion carried.

Interim Vice-President Lorna Black (PNLS) is elected Vice-President.

9. Other Business

None.

10. Adjournment

Motion: Moved by Darryl Lucke (RPL) that the AGM adjourn at 10:30 a.m. Motion carried.

2013 AGM Attendees

Trustees:

Dennis Taylor, Lakeland Gail Beuhler, Chinook Dianne Sander, Southeast Ken Sutherland, Southeast Lorna Black, PNLS Donna Hartley, Southeast Sharon Armstrong, Parkland Mairin Loewen, SPL Ida Donovan, Southeast Darryl Lucke, RPL

Guests:

Audrey Mark, PNLS
Julie Arie, Provincial Library and Literacy Office
Jeff Barber, RPL
Eleanor Crumbleholme, Lakeland
Kim Hebig, Wheatland
Tony Murphy, Wapiti