Appendix C: Brief History and Current Context for Saskatchewan's Public Libraries

From Sandy Bay to Carnduff, Maple Creek to Loon Lake, over 300 public libraries make up the province-wide system of public libraries in Saskatchewan today. The purpose of the provincial public library system is to ensure equitable access to basic library services for all residents of Saskatchewan.

Saskatchewan residents receive public library services through a province-wide network of libraries created by *The Public Libraries Act,* 1996. The provincial public library system is composed of 11 library systems that blanket the province, including:

- seven regional library systems (Chinook, Lakeland, Parkland, Palliser, Southeast, Wapiti, Wheatland);
- three municipal library systems (Prince Albert, Regina and Saskatoon);
- ► a federation of northern libraries (Pahkisimon Nuye?áh); and
- ► the Provincial Library and Literacy Office.

Every resident of Saskatchewan is entitled to borrow library materials, without payment of a fee, subject to other reasonable conditions established by the Public Library Board.

The provincial public library system ensures that all residents of Saskatchewan have equitable access to basic library services, including:

- the ability to find the 3.8 million books and 400,000 other library materials, held by public libraries in Saskatchewan, through the SILS catalogue;
- the ability to borrow books and other library materials from any public library in Saskatchewan by attending in-person, or online;
- the ability to request to borrow books and library materials from other Saskatchewan libraries through your public library branch and from out-of-province libraries through an interlibrary loan;
- the creation of autonomous library boards, composed of municipally appointed representatives, who establish the policies and services for their community or the public library system in their area.

Timeline

1900	Mechanics and Literary Institute Ordinance Territorial (Legislative) Library established.
1906	The first Public Libraries Act.
1909	Regina Public Library established.
1913	Saskatoon Public Library established.
1914	A system of travelling libraries was developed in Saskatchewan.
1950	The first regional library, North Central Saskatchewan Regional Library, was formed. (This region is now the Wapiti Regional Library.)
1991	The Northern library office received official name of Pahkisimon Nuye?áh Library System.
1996	The Public Libraries Act, 1996 established a structure for the provincial public library system to ensure equitable access to basic library services for all residents of Saskatchewan.
2008	Provincial government commits \$5.2 million for a single integrated library system for the province.
2010	Public Libraries "go live" on SILS.
2018	John M. Cuelenaere Public Library became the third municipal library.

What is SILS?

All 11 library systems and the Provincial Library use a **Single Integrated Library System (SILS), administered by the Saskatchewan Information and Library Services (SILS) Consortium.** SILS created a single, province-wide data base allowing libraries equal access to information and service options. This initiative was the foundation for 'One Province, One Library Card', and offered a universal library card to all residents of Saskatchewan. The goal of the initiative is to provide library patrons with faster, more convenient and more equitable access to public library services and materials.

What is the SILS Consortium?

All 11 public Library systems in the province, along with Provincial Library, are members of the **Saskatchewan Information and Library Services Consortium (SILS Consortium)**. The SILS Consortium enables each public Library system to collaborate on joint projects and purchases for the benefit of all library patrons across the province.

Saskatchewan Library Trustees' Association