Life Members

Honorary Life Members

Honorary Life Membership may be conferred upon a member, or past member, of the SLTA for distinguished service as a library trustee.

For details of the nomination and selection process see Article 1.3 of the Association’s bylaws.

View a copy of the Life Membership Nomination Form.

 2018 Honourary Life Member Award Recipeint - Helen Sutherland of Lakeland

  Helen Sutherland is a former teacher and farm wife. She is mother to eight. She has
  always loved books.

  Regional libraries were being established all over Saskatchewan in 1967. In Lakeland -
  not so much. At a home and school meeting that year a few like-minded people decided
  Borden needed a community library.

 Village council and the mayor offered the sales area of a vacant machinery dealership.The garage area housed the half ton that served the fire department and their equipment.

Elbow grease prepared the space. Provincial Library and Literacy Office supplied the books. The committee setup a rotation to cover opening hours.

In 1972 Lakeland was established. Borden was Branch Number 4. Now there was advice and direction from trained library personnel, a larger rotating book collection, inter-library loans and a 12 hour per week paid position. Since no one else was willing, Helen became the first   branch librarian in 1968.

In 1980 the renovated and enlarged community centre was opened. The library moved across the street to the larger, brighter, and reliably warm quarters; programs expanded.

Previously there was a well-attended story time, a summer program for 5 to 12 year olds, and evening activities for seniors. Now there was space to showcase local craftspeople and artists. A large bulletin board in the public hall advertised local events each month. There was space for pre-school and juvenile books to be displayed – even a toy library. Thanks to an active board the library sponsored programs and competitions to encourage library use.

In 1994, with a suggested 65 age retirement by the region, Helen resigned as librarian. She continued as a local board member, including a short term on the regional board, until 2017. All in all Helen has been part of the library system for 50 years.

She is gratified that the local branch is still a vibrant, ever changing place for the community. For Helen it has been a wonderful place to meet friends and welcome new people. The books and other services do so much to enrich life for all.  


To read a biography select a name listed below. An asterisk (*) indicates deceased.

1975 Jessie Robson Bothwell
Dr. Carlyle King
R.H. Macdonald
Marion Sherman
Prince Albert
1978 George Anderson
Phoebe Bunnell
Swift Current
1979 Baden Campbell Swift Current
1980 ElIzabeth E. Davis Regina
1981 Jean and Willard Kallio Dinsmore
1984 Jack Pierce Humboldt
1985 Frank Meakes Touchwood
1986 Jean Murch Lancer
1987 Isabelle Butters Weyburn
1988 Dr. Morris Anderson Regina
1989 Mrs. Leola Moore
George Gelmich
Swift Current
1990 Mrs. Violet Spencer 
Allan Bailey
1991 Harry Derbowka 
Harvey McNaught 
1992 Robert Diltz Saskatoon
1993 Elma Jahnke 
John Yung
1995 Lori Isinger 
George Bothwell
1996 Nick Gabruch  Paynton
1997 Stu Petlak  Bushell Park
1998 Bessie Darrach Aberdeen
2000 Noreene Ross Grenfell
2001 Dorothy Saunderson Vanguard
2002 Mary Beitler Tisdale
2004 Gloria Mehlmann Regina
2005 Lester Jorgenson Abbey
2006 Karen Basky Moose Jaw
2007 Rose Hoffart Tribune
2008 Louise Cochran Radisson
2010 Mark Williment La Loche
2011 Marlynne Samson Meadow Lake
2012 Gwen Collee Prince Albert
2013 Kae Campbell Wilkie
2014 Dianne Sander Weyburn
2015 Gerald Kleisinger Regina
2016 Jeanne Langorne La Ronge
2017 Allie Raycraft Lakeland
2018 Helen Sutherland Lakeland